Aside

Life Update

personal

I have to apologize for my absence. Brandon and I moved from Connecticut to Georgia and, in May, found out we are expecting our first child.

People who know me personally know that I have a hormone disorder called PCOS. One of the main symptoms, and one that I’ve dealt with since getting married, is infertility. We had started treatments in 2014 to try to get my body in balance, to try to figure out if I could even get pregnant. The doctors told us that I didn’t ovulate, but once I did, I had plenty of good eggs; they weren’t worried about us getting pregnant. Almost immediately after meeting with that doctor, we moved to Connecticut.

Fast forward almost a year and I decided to try losing weight. I wanted to finally feel good about myself after years of self-hate. Using a low-carb/keto diet and accompanying my husband to the gym six days a week, I dropped 15 lbs. It was the most weight I’d lost since my PCOS diagnosis. About two months into keto, I was complaining about (what I thought were) PMS problems when a friend convinced me to get a pregnancy test. I never thought in a million years it would be positive, but it was. And now we’re almost to the end of the pregnancy. Our due date is in January, and we are so excited to meet our little one.

Hopefully I’ll be able to get back into blogging a little more, but I know my time will be sparse with a newborn.

siggy

Leave a Reply

