Aside

Top Ten Tuesday| Books Out of my Comfort Zone

Happy Tuesday everybody! This week’s TTT, brought to you by the lovely ladies at The Broke and the Bookish is all about books I wouldn’t typically pick. Unfortunately, I rarely ever read books I wouldn’t pick because, surprise, I don’t pick out books I wouldn’t normally read.  Because of this, I’m going to limit this to a top five. I’m going to have to scour my Goodreads list to find some.  These ones won’t be in any particular order!

5.The Wrath and the Dawn – Renee Ahdieh
wrathdawn

I had this one on my TBR for a while, but I’ve been very hesitant about reading any YA lately because I’ve been annoyed with them lately. I kept finding myself reading the same stereotypical nonsense in them, so I took a break. I decided to pick this one up after seeing a tweet about how amazing it was. I would have finished in a day if I didn’t have to work. Damn jobs!

4. Wifey – Judy Blume
wifey

I read this for an online book club and was amazed. When I think of Judy Blume, I think of kid books like Super Fudge or Are you there God, It’s Me Margaret. I’d never read the word, “cunt,” so many times before in a non-offensive way. I really enjoyed the book until the very end, in which I wanted to reach into those pages and slap the main character.

3. A Rogue by Any Other Name – Sarah MacLean
rogue

I received this through one of the Book Riot boxes and I really enjoyed it. I am not a romance person, but I ended up enamored with the characters and really invested in the story.

2. How to Build a Girl – Caitlin Moran
how to

This was another gift through the OTSP Secret Sister program and I could not put this book down. I would consider it chick lit to an extent, because it isn’t the same kind of chick lit that Erin Hildebrand would fall under, but I don’t think my husband would enjoy it so much.

1. All the Birds in the Sky – Charlie Jane Anders
birds

I’m pretty picky when it comes to my fantasy/sci-fi, but I was able to read this as an ARC and I was pleasantly surprised. The back synopsis definitely did not do it justice, and I found myself drawn into a deep story about magic and science.

What are some good books you’ve read that might not have been your typical books? Let me know in the comments so I can check them out!

siggy

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday| Books Out of my Comfort Zone

Leave a Reply

