Aside

Book Review| Big Little Lies – Liane Moriarty

2016-02-17_15.25.42• Published: July 29, 2014
• Genres: Fiction, Mystery, Women’s Lit
• 460 Pages
• 
Goodreads Rating: 4.16
• My Rating: 5.00

Jane hasn’t lived anywhere for longer than six months since her son was born five years ago. She keeps moving in an attempt to escape her past. Now the idyllic coastal town of Pirriwee has pulled her to its shores and Jane feels as if she finally belongs. She fiends friends in the feisty Madeline and the incredibly beautiful Celeste, two women with seemingly perfect lives – and their own secrets.

But at the stat of a new term, an incident involving the children of all three women occurs in the playground, causing a rift between them and the other parents. Minor at first but escalating fast, until whispers and rumors become vicious and spiteful, and truths blur into lies. It was always going to end in tears, but no one thought it would end in murder…

I participated in third round of the On the Same Page Secret Sister run by three lovely ladies, Brittany, Alyssa and Amy. It’s kind of like Secret Santa, except it runs for six months and you’re assigned a sister to buy things for and somebody will in turn buy stuff for you. I had the complete pleasure of having Gwen as my Secret Sister, and she did such a wonderful job. She sent me Liane Moriarty’s The Husband’s Secret, a book I eyed every time I worked  but refused to pick up in case it came in a package. It took me about two or three days to finish, but once I was in, I was completely hooked. I did find it a little predictable, but my husband says I’m pretty hard to surprise. When I saw the preview for Shutter Island, I looked at my dad and said, “I bet you he’s crazy.” Spoiler alert he totally is. Nonetheless, I really enjoyed Moriarty’s book that I needed to find Big Little Lies. 
Now, as you can see in the picture above, the book that I found isn’t called Big Little Lies. It’s just called Little Lies. As it turns out, this is the UK printing; I found it at a second-hand bookstore and was perplexed for a good five minutes before figuring out why it looked so different. Darn international publishing for confusing me!
Okay, enough rambling. On to the review! Spoiler free!

what i liked
Jane, Celeste, Madeline (and the rest!)
There has to be about 10 to 15 characters in this book. Not all of them are relevant, and most only make a two or three sentence appearance, but they’re needed for the “clique” dynamic. We all know those groups, the groups we try hard to steer clear of but can be pulled in to without even knowing what is happening. Sports parents have their cliques, professions have them, and, as a military spouse, I can assure you that we have them too. And with cliques come the rumors. It’s almost amazing how fast one thing can spread and grow, like dandelion seeds into a fungus. Liane Moriarty took these cliques and used them perfectly, accentuating the good and the bad in them. Sometimes it’s nice to have a large group of people you can go to for support, and sometimes that group will stab you in the back.

The twists!
I read for a good five hours the other night to finish this book. I had to know how it was going to end! Who was murdered,and why? This was a story I wasn’t able to figure out before the big twist. I was in bed next to my husband when the biggest twist was revealed and I screeched, slapping his arm. “I CAN’T BELIEVE THIS OHMYGOD!” It was one of those “Einhorn is Finkle,” moments, where it all clicked but I was horribly disgusted by the outcome.
There were two or three small twists that led  up to the major plot, and they were all well-written. A good twist should be able to sneak up on you and punch you right in the teeth without you even knowing it’s coming, and Liane Moriarty does that so many times in this book.

final thoughtsIf you enjoy books like Gone Girl or The Husband’s Secret, I highly recommend Big Little Lies. It’s one of those books that hooks its fingers into your eyeballs and then, days after you forget about it, rips your eyes out and by the end of the torment, you’re thanking it.

Did you read Big Little Lies? Did you like it? Let me know in the comments below!

siggy

Leave a Reply

