Aside

Top Ten Tuesday| Songs I Wish were Books

It’s been months since I participated in The Broke and the Bookish‘s Top Ten Tuesday posts. This one definitely piqued my interest and I’ve been meaning to get back into blogging. New year and all that. So below are my choices for songs that should be books.

10. Delta Dawn – Tanya Tucker

In her younger days they called her Delta Dawn
Prettiest woman you ever laid eyes on
Then a man of low degree stood by her side
And promised her he’d take her for his bride

Not only is this a very catchy song that I get stuck in my head constantly, but the story it tells is sad. A woman who was once beautiful took too much stock in one man, probably fell pregnant by him, and has been waiting for him to come back ever since. Maybe she gave the baby up for adoption or her family has it and is taking care of it. Maybe she had it aborted. The song always makes me think about Mr. Rochester’s wife in Jane Eyre, an insane woman who makes other people’s lives miserable.

9.  Karma – Parkway Drive

A body, locked in the vice grip of conflict.
A mind, sharpened on the shards of disappointment.
And from the depths of Hell I rise.
From gilded cage, my spirit flies.
Memories of another life call me home.
Surfacing.
Shipwrecked bones
carry my seasick heart home.

I am fairly certain this song is about surfing (the band does hail from Australia), but I like to think this is about sailors on a ship fighting a band of pirates in the 1800s, or the pirates fighting the sailors. Whichever. The song might not make a very large book – maybe it’d make a better “epic” like Rime of the Ancient Mariner.

8. Immigrant Song – Led Zeppelin

We come from the land of the ice and snow,
From the midnight sun where the hot springs blow.
The hammer of the gods will drive our ships to new lands,
To fight the horde, singing and crying: Valhalla, I am coming!
On we sweep with threshing oar, Our only goal will be the western shore.

This book practically writes itself. It could be a nonfiction book about the Vikings and their history; it could be a fantasy novel based on Norse lore; it could be a historical fiction a la Bernard Cornwell – the possibilities are endless. Led Zeppelin is on my list more than once because their lyrics are whimsical and expressive in  a way that a lot of music isn’t.

7. Ghost Division – Sabaton

Always ahead, as the blitzkrieg rages on
Breaking morale the with the sound of blazing guns
First in the line of fire, first into hostile land
Tanks leading the way, leading the way

Sabaton is a Swedish power metal band whose songs focus on historical topics, mainly battles fought throughout history. As a large fan of WWII literature, I think more of it needs to be in print, and not just the stuff garnered towards us ladies. It’s why I think more movies need to be made about historical events. I’m extremely excited for the upcoming movie Race about Jesse Owens and the 1936 Olympics.

6. Stairway to Heaven – Led Zeppelin

If there’s a bustle in your hedgerow
Don’t be alarmed now
It’s just a spring clean for the May queen
Yes, there are two paths you can go by
But in the long run
There’s still time to change the road you’re on
And it makes me wonder

I don’t think I need to say a lot for this song. There’s a reason it’s considered a classic.

5. California Dreamin’ – Mamas and the Papas

All the leaves are brown (all the leaves are brown)
And the sky is grey (and the sky is grey)
I’ve been for a walk (I’ve been for a walk)
On a winter’s day (on a winter’s day)
If I didn’t tell her (if I didn’t tell her)
I could leave today (I could leave today)

Who is this “her” and why doesn’t he tell her? Why doesn’t he want her to go with him? The 60s and 70s have some of the best hippie music (duh) that make me want to spin in a circle wearing bell bottom pants and a fringe vest. It also makes me question my life choices. Honestly, I feel like “Flower Power” music can only truly be appreciated with a doobie in one hand and a lava lamp in the other.

4. Cosmic Love – Florence and the Machine

I took the stars from my eyes, and then I made a map
And knew that somehow I could find my way back
Then I heard your heart beating, you were in the darkness too
So I stayed in the darkness with you

Good ol’ Flo. I wasn’t always a fan of her music, but boy was I wrong. All of her songs make me wish I had long gorgeous hair that I could shake back and forth while blaring her music on my record player. This might not be her best song lyrically, but it is one of my favorites by her.

3. Dance of Death – Iron Maiden

Feeling scared and I fell to my knees
As something rushed me from the trees
Took me to an unholy place
And that is where I fell from grace
Then they summoned me over to join in with them
To the dance of the dead
Into the circle of fire I followed them
Into the middle I was led

I love Iron Maiden. I’ve seen them in concert a handful of times, and many of their songs are lyrically driven. This whole song is a story about a man who dances with a group of the dead – but what happens after? Does he go back? What happened before to make them choose him?

2. Rhiannon – Fleetwood Mac

Rhiannon rings like a bell through the night and
Wouldn’t you love to love her?
Takes to the sky like a bird in flight and
Who will be her lover?
All your life you’ve never seen
A woman taken by the wind
Would you stay if she promised you heaven?
Will you ever win?
I want to know Rhiannon’s story. I want to know who she is, and why she’s so ethereal. Everyone knows a Rhiannon; some are more fantastical than others, but they all share one thing – they have an air of wonder around them. They’re beautiful women that other women envy and hate and love all at once. I want to know their stories, their great loves and great sorrows.

And he was just like a great dark wing
Within the wings of a storm
I think I had met my match, he was singing
And undoing, and undoing the laces
Undoing the laces
Said Sara, you’re the poet in my heart
Never change, never stop
But now it’s gone
It doesn’t matter what for
But when you build your house
Then call me home

I love Fleetwood Mac. It’s my favorite hippie music to listen to. I could sit for hours day dreaming about the different stories the music weaves. If there was a book based on this man “like a great dark wing,” and the girl who is the “poet in my heart,” I think I would swoon and die at the same time.

That’s it for my list. What songs would you want to be a book? Are any of my songs on your list? Let me know in the comments!

siggy

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday| Songs I Wish were Books

Leave a Reply

