Aside

Top Ten Tuesday| Halloween Freebie

I am so sorry I’ve been absent lately. I am participating in this year’s NaNoWriMo and have been busy getting ready for it. I’m still nowhere near ready, but I still have a few days left to figure it all out. Anyway, this week’s Top Ten Tuesday, brought to us by The Broke and the Bookish, I’ve realized that a lot of times I don’t follow through with a Top Ten list because I run out of ideas for some of them. I’m going to try something different this week and only do a top five. For the freebie, I’m going to go with Top Five Scariest Kids Books/TV Shows.

5. Real Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark – Alvin Schwartz

151117

The stories in these books weren’t all terrifying. Some of them were funny, and some were merely freaky (and still scare me today, like the story High Beams). These stories are “fun scary,” like a haunted hayride; you know they’re fake, but you’re going to scream because it can be fun to be scared. The scariest part of these books was the illustrations. In fact, the new books they have no longer feature the old illustrations. I guess people thought they were too scary for their kids.

 773467

That’s what made them so fun though! The pictures drove home the creepiness for me. Without the pictures, they wouldn’t have made such an impact in my childhood.

4. Goosebumps (Books) – R. L. Stine
Stay_out_of_the_basement
R.L. Stine was one of my favorite authors when I was a kid. I loved reading the Goosebumps books when I was younger, especially the “Pick Your Own Adventure” ones. I ended up dying a lot in them, so I would peek to the next page before fully committing to it. These books were terrifying as a kid. A lot of times they used families as monsters to really make it seem realistic. I’m sure I thought a lot of my neighbors were vampires because of these books.

3. Goosebumps (TV Show)
Goosebumps_intertitle

Oh yeah.The TV show. The show scared me more than the books did, if I’m honest. The episode where the dad is a plant?! No thank you. Or the one where the kids are stuck in a medieval tower? This show is probably one of the reasons I am terrified of going anywhere alone. I’m sure we all remember the one where the mask pretty much eats this girl’s face and starts taking over her body, right? In case you forgot, here’s a picture:
HauntedMask-630x420
Then, of course, there’s Slappy the dummy. R.L. Stine is a genius when it comes to scarring children for life. Thanks, Mr. Stine!

3. X-Files (TV Show)
xfiles-logo
Okay, not for children, but scared me anyway. To this day, the theme music freaks me the fuck out. I don’t like it. I hate it. I used to run out of the room when I was a kid, and if it was on a TV today, I’d probably just leave because I cannot handle it.

2. Real Scary Stories (TV Show)
hqdefault
This show only had one or two seasons, but I used to watch it religiously. For those of you who never watched it, it featured teens going into haunted areas and filming their experiences. I loved every second of it. Whoever did the voice overs sounded just like the old woman from Poltergeist, and it used to give my mom the creeps. (Sorry Ma!). This was my first venture into shows like Ghost Hunters and the like. I loved it and was so upset when it was cancelled.

1.Are You Afraid of the Dark

chnnlsurf-90sallthat-splsh

The opening credits were enough to freak me out. The actual episodes weren’t any better. I remember one episode where the kids used a camera that was possessed by a demon or something, so whenever they took a picture it showed somebody getting hurt, and then they’d get hurt in the same way. They also had this episode:
nightmare_clown_by_okashii_blehz-d346det
That’s terrifying to me right now – I can’t even imagine what I was thinking as a kid watching this. (I think I’m going to put it on after I write this).

There you have it. The top 5 things that scared me as a kid. What were some of your favorite spooky reads/shows as a kid or as an adult? Let me know in the comments below, and have a Happy Halloween!

signature

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday| Halloween Freebie

  1. My TTT was about scary books I read when I was a kid, so there is definitely some overlap! I had Goosebumps and the Scary Stories as well. I recently purchased a new collection and the illustrations are just as disturbing now as they were when I was a kid.

    And I loved Are You Afraid of the Dark. As I was writing my list yesterday I was thinking about that and wishing I could watch it! lol.

Leave a Reply

