Aside

New York Comic Con 2015

This past Saturday, I was able to attend this year’s New York Comic Con. I didn’t take a lot of pictures because I was trying to use the “Manual” option on my camera but couldn’t get the lighting right. Here are some of the photos I was able to get.

nycc2

Cosplay of Thrall from World of Warcraft. This kid’s costume was awesome!

nycc4

Funko Hulkbuster!

nycc1

I honestly have no idea what this is, but it looked cool, and that’s what really matters.

nycc3

This was part of the Warcraft exhibition at NYCC.

I didn’t pick up any comics or prints wile we were there. I was going to pick up a copy of Lumberjanes but they only had Volume 2 and I didn’t want to buy it before reading Volume 1. I was able to meet Ted Naifeh, the creator and artist of one of my favorite comics, Princess Ugg. It was nice being able to chat with him, and I was actually pretty excited to see him there, considering Princess Ugg isn’t very well known (yet!).

I did find the “Bookish” section of Comic Con, of course. From what I can remember, there were booths from Tor Publishing, Crown Publishing, HarperCollins,  and Del Rey. I’m going to post captions under some  of the “flair” I got, so I don’t clog the post.

wp2

Book samplers from Del Rey. The Hammer and the Blade is a full free book.

nycc6_edited-1

I bought Among Others and Article 5, and received everything else (including the Card book) as a gift. The little blue thing on the right is a pair of headphones. Can’t have too many pairs of those!

wpsnycc1

This I received as a gift for buying the not-yet-released paperback version of Krampus the Yule Lord by Brom, and will be a gift to the lovely Alyssa at bookstakeyouplaces.com

nycc7

I loved Brom’s book The Child Thief, so when I saw Krampus, I couldn’t not buy it! I am so excited to read this before the movie comes out.

sp

I was ecstatic to be able to see one of my friends from my hometown, Shelby, who runs one of my favorite stores, Show Pony. These are the two bracelets I picked up, and I have a good amount of her items on my wishlist.

   nycc5

OKAY SO ABOUT THIS BOOK. I absolutely love Peter Clines. His series Ex-Heroes is one of my favorites. His characters are all so different and so realistic that I sometimes forget it’s completely fictional. While we were leaving Comic Con yesterday, we saw that the Crown Publishing table had Ex-Heroes on it and stopped to take a look. We were talking to the two people running the booth who let us know that Peter Clines was actually there and had just walked away for a moment, but would be back within half an hour. We had a train to catch, though, and couldn’t stay. It was around this time that I saw they had this book. I was getting my wallet out when one of the people running the table said, “Actually, we aren’t selling any of the books today,” (which received a sad face from me), “but since you’re a fan, you can have it.” I don’t think I even said anything for a good moment there. I was just trying to process what was being said.
“No way, really?!”
“Yeah just, ya know, spread the word about the books!” I have to give a massive shoutout to those people. I’m currently reading All the Light We Cannot See for a bookclub, but The Fold is going to be my next book.

cards

Here are two more cards for stores I saw at Comic Con, but wasn’t able to pick up any of their items. Literary Alterations and Snappy Ties. Both are geared towards bookish folk and those with nerd tendencies.

I don’t have a flyer or anything for her, so I stole a picture from her facebook. This here is Victoria Gedvillas, who is an amazing artist. She was handing out little flyers and it wasn’t until I walked away that I read it. I’m a big fan of people who share my name, so I would have probably hugged her (and bought a print!). Plus, she had a cute little picture of Wonder Woman on the back. So please, if you can, go support this wonderful artist!

12038221_703729236395490_2656526941934258309_n

There you have it folks. My post from Comic Con. Were you there? Did I miss you? I’m sorry *sad face* To be fair, I missed a lot of people yesterday. Comment below with your thoughts!

signature

One thought on “New York Comic Con 2015

Leave a Reply

