Aside

Book Review| Queen of Shadows – Sarah J. Maas

79329_originalQueen of Shadows – Sarah J. Maas
Published: September 1, 2015 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult, Magic
Pages: 648
Goodreads Rating: 4.69
My Rating: 4.5

The queen has returned.
Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she’s at last returned to the empire—for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past.
She has embraced her identity as Aelin Galathynius, Queen of Terrasen. But before she can reclaim her throne, she must fight.
She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die for her. She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen’s triumphant return.
The fourth volume in the New York Times bestselling series contrinues Celaena’s epic journey and builds to a passionate, agonizing crescendo that might just shatter her world.

What can I even say? I sped through this series in about four days. I finished this book in a day. I stayed up until three in the morning finishing this because I simply could not put it down. This post will be filled with spoilers. Continue reading at your own risk.

I don’t like to review books immediately after finishing them. I like letting them sit so I have time to let the hype wear down. It lets me review honestly. Let’s start with what I liked.

Note: I will refer to Celaena as Aelin through the post.

what i liked
New/Revised Characters
We see a lot of familiar faces in this book. Two in particular stood out to me: Lysandra and Kaltain. Both were rivals of Aelin when she was younger, and they become heroes in their own right. Lysandra, who was so close to paying off her debts to the brothel that took her in, saved a young girl from experiencing that same fate. She does so much more by the end of the book, but that is the one thing that came across as completely selfless. When we learn about her past, her future actions are a sort of vengeance against those that took away magic. Helping a child escape the fate of courtesan is the bravest thing she ever did.

Kaltain, on the other hand, is barely more than a human shell throughout the book. It isn’t until the end that she is finally able to inflict her own vengeance. I can’t remember who exactly she burns alive, but I wish she had been able to tear that whole place down. I can’t even imagine the horrible things she’s had to endure. It feels as if she deserved to inflict more pain than she did.

New Ships
I was fully on the Chaolena ship. I have since jumped ship and fully support Aelin/Rowan. I don’t even know what their celebrity name would be, I’m so new to the ship. I know a lot of people who read GoT who were completely against Aelin/Rowan and now they ship it. QoS completely erases any idea that Chaolena will be a thing again. I’m okay with this. They both grew as people, and were no longer compatible. It happens all the time with people.

I liked the ships introduced to us. Caol and Nesryn, Dorian and Manon, Lysandra and an endless amount of possibilities. Right now, I wouldn’t mind seeing Lysandra with Aedion, but who knows. I am most excited for this Dorian/Manon ship because MANON. IMMORTAL WITCH + LOVE + MORTAL = FEELS. SO MANY FEELS.

Though this doesn’t go with “ships,” I did love the character development of so many people. Manon, as well as her 13, grow so much in this book. They go from mindlessly listening to orders to questioning these orders. So many character growths. So good.

did like
The Ending
Before you throw anything at me, let me clarify: There were only a few things I didn’t like. Mostly, it just felt too clean to me. Everything worked out for once. I fully expected somebody to die, and was a little disappointed that they didn’t. Of all the times for somebody to die, this would have been the best time for it. Do I want characters to die? Of course not. Do I expect them to when the book centers on a war? Yes. The whole ending just felt like all the loose ends were tied up nicely, save for the one or two needed to continue the series. Now that the king has been taken care of, I don’t even know who Aelin will fight against now. Is it her kingdom against this Wyrd-kingdom? Maybe.

Have you read Queen of Shadows yet? Do you plan on it? What did you think about it if you did? Let me know in the comments below!

signature

Leave a Reply

