Aside

#OTSP Secret Sister Box 1

If you’re a bookworm who frequents Twitter or Instagram, you may have seen a lot of posts tagged #OTSPSecretSister. Created by Alyssa, Amy and Brittany, the Secret Sister Project is kind of like a Secret Santa, except it’s for 6 months out of the year and it’s focused on bookish folk. I first heard about it last year when I kept seeing a friend of mine (Lindsey, since I’m tagging everyone) posting all these pictures to Instragram and Twitter with the same tag. I looked into it and found out when the next sign ups would be, and then I signed up. Each month, you send a box (and some letters or postcards or whatever you want!) to your secret sister and, in return, a different sister sends you a box/cards/goodies. I’m not posting anything at all about the things I’ve gotten for my sister because I really want to try to stay as secret as possible. I usually hate surprises, but I’m not even trying to figure out who my sister is. I decided that I would share the box I received from my sister, partly to brag and partly to give people ideas at great little gifts. Below is a picture of the very first box my Secret Sister sent me!

lolol

If you couldn’t tell by my blog name, I absolutely love flowers and floral designs. If I owned a house, 99.9% of all patterns in said house would be floral because I’m pretty much a 90-year-old woman in the body of a 23 year-old. When I opened my box and saw all the flowery floralness, I let out a huge squeal that scared my husband. I just love all of it. The thing with the pink flowers is actually a solar dancing flower and, unbeknownst to my Sister, I am effing obsessed with these things. Whenever I see them in people’s cars or in a window to a store, they just make me happy. They’re just dancing because they’re in the sun. You go little plastic flowers!

The notepads really come in useful at work. I work at our local Books A Million, so I’m surrounded by books on a daily basis. If something catches my eye, I write the title down so I don’t forget about it. By the end of the day, I have at least three to five scraps of paper to take home with me. Now, I can just use my handy dandy notebook! No more paper scraps for me!

I still need to find a place to put the decorative lights. I would love to put them near our desktop computer, but that’s kind of my husband’s spot and I don’t know how he’d feel about being surrounded by flowers. As for the sunflower, I think I’m going to plant it tomorrow (Aug. 22). I hope the weather is still good for it. Do you think I could keep it in the house? I’ll have to really look at the directions because I want it to last. The sunflower seeds are a healthy snack to go with my PCOS. I felt bad for my sister because it’s hard enough for me to try to eat/snack healthy, so buying stuff for another person based on the disease is a pain in the ass, I’m sure. She’s been wonderful and extremely supportive, though. I’ll probably scarf them down this weekend!

I can’t wait for the weather to get just a little chillier so I can wear my new scarf. It’s been insanely humid lately, so wearing anything more than a t-shirt is completely off the table. Once it cools down, I’ll be able to showcase my awesome flowery scarf!

 Go Set a Watchman was at the very bottom of the box and I was so damn excited for it! When I went for my BAM interview, I saw that I could get 40% off with my membership. I held off because I didn’t want to spend the money yet, figuring I’d be back anyway. I’m so glad I never bought it because it is such a great gift to receive. I have at least three books to read before I can get to GSaW, but I am so excited to read it. I’m terrified, because To Kill a Mockingbird was one of my favorite high school reads. I’m just going to take it as a completely different book and not let it ruin or change my opinion about characters I loved as a kid.

The Secret Sister Project is great for enforcing a book buying ban on yourself. After getting my box, I realized that I have a horrible problem with overbuying books. Now I’ll be able to refrain because I know my sister is doing her best to make these boxes great, and I don’t want to ruin it. Unfortunately, it’s so hard trying not to spend money on your own sister! I keep going over the $20 mark! Now with my new job, I’ll be able to save a good amount with my employee discount. Woo!

Have you heard about the Secret Sister Project before? If not, are you totally interested in it now?! Let me know in the comments below!

signature

One thought on “#OTSP Secret Sister Box 1

Leave a Reply

