Book Review| The Luckiest Girl Alive – Jessica Knoll

51HMfl5xx9L._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

The Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll
Published: May 12, 2015 by Simon & Schuster
Genres: Fiction, Mystery, Thriller
Pages: 352
Goodreads Rating: 3.54
My Rating: 4.0

Her perfect life is a perfect lie. As a teenager at the prestigious Bradley School, Ani FaNelli endured a shocking, public humiliation that left her desperate to reinvent herself. Now, with a glamorous job, expensive wardrobe, and handsome blue blood fiancé, she’s this close to living the perfect life she’s worked so hard to achieve. But Ani has a secret. There’s something else buried in her past that still haunts her, something private and painful that threatens to bubble to the surface and destroy everything. With a singular voice and twists you won’t see coming, Luckiest Girl Alive explores the unbearable pressure that so many women feel to “have it all” and introduces a heroine whose sharp edges and cutthroat ambition have been protecting a scandalous truth, and a heart that’s bigger than it first appears. The question remains: will breaking her silence destroy all that she has worked for—or, will it at long last, set Ani free?

I try to go to the gym with my husband whenever he goes. I hate going by myself and it gets me out of the house. Before you walk in, there is a bulletin board I usually glance at. Since we go to the military gym on base, there’s usually a good amount of “base” activities. I happened to see the words “Book Club” and snapped a quick picture to send to a friend of mine to see if she’d like to check it out. It was at the library and scheduled to take place on Tuesday (it was Saturday). I didn’t start reading until Sunday night and finished Monday morning. I did sleep, so I wasn’t awake the whole time. That doesn’t mean I couldn’t have done it. No part of me wanted to put this book down. Had I not had an extremely busy day, I wouldn’t have gone to bed at 1 AM; I would have stayed up to finish.

Review

I thought this was going to be a YA fluffy novel about a dead girl or a zombie or something. Yes, I broke the cardinal rule: I judged the book by its cover. I should have known from the first few sentences that this would not be anything close to a YA book, but I didn’t realize just how dark it was going to be. This is one of those books I can’t review without giving away spoilers, and I don’t plan on spoiling it. It was just too good. So this review will be pretty dang short.

Though LGA is compared to Gone Girl, they are so very different. Amy from Gone Girl is a wonderful villain who is manipulative and, in short, insane. She’s great to read about, and I enjoyed the book. Ani (pronounced AH-nee), on the other hand, isn’t nearly as villainous as Amy. She is manipulative and, yes, at times insane, but Ani doesn’t go to the extremes Amy does. Plus, the story lines are completely different. Once again, I won’t give anything away, but LGA is not about a spurned lover or a s/o who cheats or anything like that, even though Ani does have a fiance. Her story goes so much deeper than any of that.

At the beginning of the story, I didn’t like Ani. She comes from a different world than me, where brand names (and last names!) actually matter. She can be indifferent, which is unsettling for a reader. We want to connect with our main character, and it was hard for me to connect to her at first. By the middle of the book, I wanted nothing more than to hold her and brush her hair and feed her pizza. Ani, and all the characters in this book, are written as realistic people instead of fictional heroes. We want our Knights in Shining Armour, our Damsels in Distress, all the typical archetypes we have been conditioned to see. None of these characters are blatantly present in this book. Some characters can be made to fit in these roles at times, but not throughout the whole story. (I’m no English major here either, so don’t kill me).

I finished this book in less than 24 hours. I really enjoyed this book, and I think if you liked Gone Girl, you should pick this up.

four star

Have you read this book? If not, do you want to? Let me know in the comments below!

signature

2 thoughts on “Book Review| The Luckiest Girl Alive – Jessica Knoll

Leave a Reply

